Sharing knowledge for the art of artificial craft pumpkins.
By lonogod
Hey everyone!

So, I've been carving ten to fifteen pumpkins every year for the past twelve years and I finally invested in some Funkins from Hobby Lobby (just a few to start with). However, I'm a little concerned because these things are really hard! I am NOT looking to use a dremel, hot knife, or any other tools like that. I was hoping to use my standard carving kit or even an Xacto knife if need be. Is this possible with Funkins? Can anyone give me some pointers on the best way to start? Perhaps even a video of a carve using just standard carving tools?

Thank you all! :)

- Lonogod
By lonogod
I figured someone would have responded by now, but perhaps all of my questions spooked some people. Sorry! :oops:

I guess I'll just ask one question:

Is it feasible to carve a Funkin with a standard carving kit?

Thank you!

- Lonogod
By zombombie
Hi!

So I've never carved a foam 'kin but here's what I've picked up from here.

If you use a serated carving knife you'll tear up the edges of the pattern. If you use an xacto knife it will take a while but it'll be smoother. You could use a combination of both of course! Hope that helps!
By Doh
It depends on what you are carving.
If it is a simple design then yes.
If it is the type of designs that I carve....the answer is SURE!...if you love pain and discomfort.
It would be like shoveling snow with a popsicle stick.
lonogod wrote:Is it feasible to carve a Funkin with a standard carving kit?
Absolutely. The teeth of a standard carving kit will saw right through the foam. It may leave rough edges, but you can smooth them with a nail file. Here's a photo of a Fun-kin, carved with a pumpkin carving saw tool:

I'd probably avoid a plain X-acto blade, because without the aid of saw teeth or heat to help the blade pass through the foam, it would take a lot of pressure. One slip and you could cut yourself.